top of page

4 Types of Functional Mushrooms You Need to Know


October 08, 2020

By Coffee Buy Direct

In the fungi kingdom, there are approximately 14,000 mushroom species and about 3,000 are edible fungi. There are four types of functional mushrooms you need to know. These are rare fungi that are grown in a specific climate region. Ganoderma Lucidum, Chaga, Lion’s Mane, and Cordyceps have higher contents of health benefits than most average mushrooms found in your local supermarket. These functional mushrooms not only fall in the superfood category, but it has gotten extremely popular among the coffee connoisseurs in recent years. Each functional mushroom has its own specific health strength and commonly used as supplements to treat ailments and boost the immune system, and even in culinary cooking for centuries to modern day.

Here is a compare chart of the 4 functional mushrooms, researched by Coffee Buy Direct R&D team. 

 CHART: 4 Types of Functional Mushrooms You Need to Know

chaga mushroom.jpg
lions mane.jpg

*These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This information is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.

*Consult with your physician before incorporating any dietary supplements and mushroom health benefits. Adverse effects may occur from using dietary supplements and functional mushrooms in higher doses if you are taking medication and pregnant.



  1. Healing Mushrooms: A Practical and Culinary Guide to Using Mushrooms for Whole Body Health, Tero Isokauppila

  2. Fantastic Fungi: Expanding Consciousness, Alternative Healing, Environmental Impact, Paul Stamets

bottom of page